Toggle menu

Wheelie bins

Latest updates on rollout of wheelie bins for refuse in Lewes district

Guide to elections

Details of the type of elections held, their purpose, the areas they represent and the number of elected representatives

There are various levels of government, each with their own level of authority. Elections are held to elect representatives to office who determine how services are delivered to the public.

All elections held within Lewes District and Eastbourne Borough are administered by us. We hold the electoral register, organise polling stations and all other aspects to do with an election.

County, borough and district, town and parish elections

County, Borough and District, Town and Parish elections determine the councillors who run your local services. Councillors are elected for a term of four years, although not all elections are held at the same time in the same year.

The way you vote for local councillors is similar to voting in a general election. The candidate who gets the most votes, wins - this is called a 'first-past-the-post' voting system.  When you vote in a local election, the ballot paper will list all the candidates standing. The boundary of the area is determined by the type of seat being contested.

Eastbourne Borough Council is represented by 27 elected councillors. Lewes District Council is represented by 41 elected councillors. Within Lewes District, there are also several smaller town and parish areas, each with their own elected representatives whose numbers vary depending upon their size.

County Councillors represent larger areas than parish, town or districts. They may represent the same geographical area, but determine the use of different services. East Sussex County Council has 50 elected members.

Parliamentary elections

In a general election, every area in the country votes for one Member of Parliament (MP) to represent them in the House of Commons. There are 650 geographical areas, called constituencies.

Each eligible voter has one vote in their local constituency, and the candidate with the most votes becomes the MP for that area. This voting system is called 'first-past-the-post'.

Usually the political party with the most MPs then forms the government - though two or more parties with a combined majority of MPs may form a coalition government. There has to be a general election at least every five years.

The Lewes District is represented by two parliamentary constituencies - Lewes and Brighton Kemptown. Eastbourne Borough is represented by the Eastbourne constituency.


A by-election is held when a vacancy occurs during the life of the seat. It can be held for a County, Borough/District or Town/Parish council.

This can occur for a number of reasons including:

  • failure to accept office
  • resignation
  • death
  • ceasing to be qualified
  • becoming disqualified
  • failing to sign an undertaking to observe the council's model code of conduct
  • failing to attend meetings

A by-election for a vacancy in a Parliamentary seat is held following the issue of the Writ of election. The appropriate electorate will be informed of the by-election and will have the opportunity to vote for a new representative on the respective seat.

Share this page

Facebook icon Twitter icon email icon


print icon
Last modified on 01 July 2024